If you’re looking to explore the Tweed section by places, we’ve got you covered. Grab a map and explore the historic charm of Murwillumbah to the stunning beauty among the smaller villages. Each location along the Rail Trail offers a unique and unforgettable experience. Immerse yourself in the local culture, enjoy delicious food and drink at local cafes, or simply take in the awe-inspiring scenery. For more information about places within Richmond Valley, Lismore and Byron Shire, read more about the project and construction.
Murwillumbah Dunbible Stokers Siding Burringbar Mooball Crabbes Creek
Boasting 37 kilometers of pristine coastline, verdant wetlands and forests, expansive pastoral and farm land, and the entire Tweed River basin, Tweed is a nature lover’s paradise. The mountainous regions of the area contain 3 of Australia’s World Heritage listed national parks, adding to the region’s natural charm. It is a truly stunning region that showcases the first rays of sunshine to touch the Australian continent, centered around the breathtaking Wollumbin / Mount Warning.
Tweed is situated in one of the world’s largest natural erosion calderas, making it a truly unique destination. The area is renowned for its rich biodiversity, which is the highest in New South Wales, making it an internationally significant environment that’s perfect for exploration and discovery.
In the local Bundjalung dialect, Murwillumbah is thought to mean the place of the bleeding big nose.
In the 1880s, Tumbulgum was the principal town in the Tweed Valley with an active commercial sector. After the rail line to Lismore opened in 1894, followed by the Murwillumbah Bridge in 1901,
Murwillumbah became the major centre on the Tweed.
Today over 9,000 people call Murwillumbah home and enjoy its art deco architecture, the vibrant arts community, cafes, restaurants, and boutique shops. Murwillumbah remains the centre for dairying, sugarcane and banana growing.
Murwillumbah is also home to the Tweed Regional Museum in town, and Tweed Regional Gallery & Margaret Olley Art Centre which you can travel to via the rail trail.
Dunbible means the black apple tree in the local Bundjalung dialect.
In the late 1880s, the area was home to a very small community, predominantly farmland for dairy, pigs and cattle.
Dunbible was quite isolated, and before the railway, travel was done on horseback. The railway brought prosperous new opportunitie
s to the area, particularly in agriculture. Cream gathered from cows in Dunbible in the morning could now arrive at the NORCO butter factory in Murwillumbah in the blink of an eye.
Today there are almost 400 community members of Dunbible and the small town features the beautiful heritage Dunbible Creek Bridge.
When the railway was constructed in 1894, Stokers Siding was known as part of Dunbible Creek. In 1903 it was renamed Stokers Siding after local landholder Joseph Stokers.
The once predominant farmland has evolved and Stokers Siding is now home to over 600 people and boasts a thriving arts community.
Stokers village has a number of popular attractions including the Community Printmakers Murwillumbah. Housed in the historic Stokers Siding Pottery Buidling, the community organisation is a working print studio with art gallery. The General Store/Post Office with a verandah tearoom is located in the old railway station.
The village also has a vibrant public school and is known to host regular events at the community hall known as the Stokers Siding Dunbible Memorial Hall.
Burringbar is thought to mean the place of the non-returning fighting boomerang in the local Bundjalung dialect. John Ewing purchased the land that is now Burringbar Village in 1888 and erected the first built structure just off the main street.
Burringbar became an overnight stay for Cobb & Co coaches, bringing mail, newspapers, and supplies from Murwillumbah and Brunswick Heads. With the railway and road development, the village became a thriving district centre and is now home to over 1,100 people.
Burringbar still retains its small village charm and is a great stop-off point with a general store and craft, along with roadside fruit stalls. A pretty park with a historic monument marks the centre of the town.
The Burringbar Range tunnel connects the villages of Stokers Siding and Burringbar. The tunnel closed to rail services in 2004 and since this time, bats and glow worms have claimed their habitat inside.
Mooball (pronounced Mow-ball) is thought to mean big swamp, big lake, or the cane of a lawyer vine in the local Bundjalung dialect.
After European settlement, the town grew into a small farming community and now has over 190 residents. The town features the original 1930s pub and post office buildings. Mooball is a great place to stop for a coffee to rest and recharge.
You can’t move through town without missing the black and white cow prints painted on the electricity poles throughout the village.
Crabbes Creek runs from Yelgun ridge down to Wooyung. This is a very significant area for local Bundjalung who acknowledge it as the pathway of the sun. It is where the Ancestral beings created some of the first ceremonies for all of the Bundjalung.
Crabbes Creek got its name after landholder Robert Crabbe, in the late 1800s. Before this, the local area was known as “Pimble” by the local Aboriginal people of the Moorung Moobar Clan of the Bundjalung Nation.
Sand mining, cane and dairy farming, and growing bananas were common at Crabbes Creek. The area has the distinction of having the first Macedonian Orthodox Church in Australia, built in 1949, which is still standing and is now the community hall.
Today Crabbes Creek is home to almost 300 people who form a vibrant community.
Check out Tweed Regional Museum for more interesting stories of the Tweed.